top of page
St Peter's Kierch

The lot of ground on which the first Sant Peter's Kierch was built was purchased from George Fisher, a founder of Middletown on September 18th, 1764.  The same year, King George III of England through John Penn, governor of Pennsylvania, granted permission to the Lutheran congregation of Middletown to collect funds for a building which to worship.  The cornerstone was laid on July 13, 1767, bearing the name "Sant Peter's Kierch".

​

The congregation of Saint Peter's outgrew the Kierch with the last regular service held on January 26, 1879.  The following Sunday, February 2nd, 1879, the parishioners of "Sant Peter's Kiech" assembled outside the building and marched to their new building at the corner of Spring and Union where today the congregation still worships.

​

The old church is still used on occasions by St. Peter's and the community for worship and fellowship.  In 1973 Sant Peter's Kierch was added to the National Register of Historic Places. The Kierch is the foundation of St. Peter's Evangelical Lutheran Church and is a living and vibrant part of our heritage and our present.

​

This facility is available for special community events such as weddings by calling the church office.

Keirch cemetery view.jpg
Kierch interior.jpg
ELCA Logo large.png
Synod_ric_edited.jpg
ric_orig.png

© 2025 St. Peter's Lutheran Church. All rights preserved.

bottom of page